Flying Canyon
Flying Canyon
CD / MP3
« SAB 016 · SAB 018 »


Soaring like The Eagles on Robitussin, Flying Canyon's mournful folk-rock slowly ascends into the desert sky. Existing in the sun-baked tradition of burnt-out Cosmic Californians like Sky Sunlight Saxon, Skip Spence, David Crosby and Phil Perlman, frontman Cayce Lindner is tapping a rich vein of indigenous folk, rock & country, and like them, he's not a traditionalist. With organ, fuzz bass, cathedral harmonies & cavernous drums, Flying Canyon slow the pace to a funeral crawl; an apocalyptic and almost religious feeling emanates from this music, while Lindner, with quavering vocals of the Young/Garcia axis, delivers his high desert eulogies, mournful tales of eternal love and despair.

Backing Lindner in Flying Canyon are Shayde Sartin and Jewelled Antler's Glenn Donaldson, who recorded the album on a crumbling reel-to-reel tape machine at his home in San Francisco's famed Mission District, mere blocks from where Sir Douglas Quintet recorded their classic Together After Five LP.

Track list

01. In the Reflection
02. Down to Summer
03. Crossing By Your Star
04. The Bull Who Knew the Ring
05. The Dawn Curtain
06. Relover
07. Gibralter May Fall
08. This Can't Be My Home
09. At Night When the World Goes Quiet


Pitchfork | Ptolemaic Terrascope | Lost at Sea | Animal Psi | Foxy Digitalis