Blackout Beach
Skin of Evil
CD / LP / MP3
« SAB 030 · SAB 032 »


Blackout Beach is Carey Mercer (from Frog Eyes and Swan Lake) in a solo mode, and Skin of Evil is his second full-length. Skin of Evil is remarkable in the sense that a. it contains a story, and b. it sticks to the story; a rare occurrence in these free times. "Donna" is the subject, and each of her lovers (past & present) say their peace in song (Donna gets her song, too).

"Maybe it's about a girl, about salvation's undoing through romantic love, wreckage of this kind…No matter, the important thing is that this is the first time I've REALLY heard theatrics AND atmospherics in a record, and such an abundance of both." - Dan Bejar

Track list

01. Cloud of Evil
02. Biloxi, In a Grove, Cleans Out His Eyes
03. Three Men Drown in the River
04. William, the Crowd, It's William
05. The Roman
06. Woe to the Minds of Soft Men
07. The Whistle
08. Nineteen, One God, One Dull Star
09. Sophia, Donna, I Was Down the River Waiting
10. Astoria, Menthol Lite, Hilltop, Wave of Evil, 1982


Pitchfork | Coke Machine Glow | 30 Music | Toronto Eye Weekly | Filter | Blurt | Last Plane to Jakarta | Georgia Straight