The Deadnotes
Orange Trumpet
LP / MP3
« SAB 033 · SAB 035 »


The Deadnotes are Eugene Carchesio, Stuart Busby and Leighton Craig, from Brisbane, Australia. With an arsenal of trumpet, guitar, drums & casio, the trio make a glorious racket that's drawn comparisons (rightly or wrongly) to Ennio Morricone, Maher Shalal Hash Baz, The Magic Band, Moondog and even The Minutemen. Since their formation in 2005, the band has written and recorded hundreds of minimal miniatures, some of which have appeared on limited CDRs via Craig's Kindling imprint. The 30 tracks that comprise Orange Trumpet - the trio's defining statement - are amongst their earliest creations.

Trained in the 'school of error,' The Deadnotes' fractured pop touches upon the sounds of their forebearors in Brisbane, from experimental (The Lost Domain), to skewed pop (Small World Experience), to moody punk (The Five Minutes), to amalgams of all of the above (D.N.E.).

Track list

01. Through the Hoop
02. Broken Wheel
03. Orange Trumpet
04. 3 - 0
05. Ask the Question
06. Twice Round the Block
07. Gigantor
08. Formula Discovery
09. Louis' Dog
10. Ants
11. Falling Up
12. Hourglass
13. Make Waves
14. Three Set Sail
15. Chasing the Tail
16. The Equation
17. Guinea Pig
18. Form a Ring, Shuffle Left
19. Tug o' War
20. The Days and the Nights
21. Join the Dots
22. Pandanus
23. Mr. Methodical
24. The Processional
25. In the Fall of Time
26. Do the Deadnote
27. Gigantor (reprise)
28. Blindfold
29. Towards Home
30. The Deadnotes Theme


Still Single | Siltblog