Sonny & the Sunsets
Tomorrow is Alright
« SAB 038 · SAB 040 »

Sonny & the Sunsets are a beautiful west coast thing. Birthed from the sand, the surf, and twilight campfires down in Ocean Beach, Sonny & the Sunsets’ busted beach-pop songs spark recollections of doo wop's otherworldly despair, a dose of goofball humor from the Michael Hurley school, and positive possibilities exuded by Jonathan Richman. Helmed by the singer / songwriter, playwright, author & onetime troubadour pianoman Sonny Smith, The Sunsets have featured a revolving door lineup that now includes Ryan Browne, Kelley Stotlz and Tahlia Harbour. Still more friends and neighbors including John Dwyer, Tim Cohen and Shayde Sartin cosmically appeared to contribute to the debut LP, Tomorrow is Alright. A co-release with the Secret Seven, and subsequently re-released by Fat Possum.

Track list

01. Too Young to Burn
02. Death Cream
03. Strange Love
04. Planet of Women
05. The Houris
06. Stranded
07. Bad Vibes & Evil Thoughts
08. Chapters
09. Love Among Social Animals
10. Lovin' on an Older Gal


Pitchfork | Raven Sings the Blues | Agit Reader | Waterloo Sunset | Monchicon! | The Catbirdseat