Ulaan Khol
CS / MP3
« SAB 075 · SAB 077 »


Though silent as Ulaan Khol for the past few years, Steven R. Smith has been as busy as ever writing & recording for tangential projects Ulaan Markhor and Ulaan Passerine. Ulaan Khol may not have seen the same attention as of late, but is the nexus of Smith's current endeavors, and is his longest-running project as well. Seven years after the first Ulaan Khol release arrived, Smith continues to utilize the platform to fuse the confluence of New Zealand free noise, Australian post-punk and art-rock, and Japanese underground psych (a la PSF Records) with his own palette. Smith presents his own personal strain of psychedelic guitar exploration, alternating between blistering, hypnotic and meditative, with his scorching guitar firmly at the center. Salt is the latest chapter.

Track list

01. In the Spires
02. Sun Like a White Scream
03. From Here to There
04. Tree Herding
05. Saltland
06. Last Dance on the Line
07. Even the Stars Are Damned
08. Purifoy / Delta Lady