Soft Abuse


SAB039 | LP, CD, DL

Sonny & the Sunsets

Tomorrow is Alright

Sonny & the Sunsets are a beautiful west coast thing. Birthed from the sand, the surf, and twilight campfires down in Ocean Beach, Sonny & the Sunsets’ busted beach-pop songs spark recollections of doo wop’s otherworldly despair, a dose of goofball humor from the Michael Hurley school, and positive possibilities exuded by Jonathan Richman. Helmed by the singer / songwriter, playwright, author & onetime troubadour pianoman Sonny Smith, The Sunsets have featured a revolving door lineup that now includes Ryan Browne, Kelley Stotlz and Tahlia Harbour. Still more friends and neighbors including John Dwyer, Tim Cohen and Shayde Sartin cosmically appeared to contribute to the debut LP, Tomorrow is Alright. A co-release with the Secret Seven, Tomorrow is Alright was subsequently re-released by Fat Possum & then later re-re-released by Polyvinyl.

Not Available

Track Titles

  1. Too Young to Burn
  2. Death Cream
  3. Strange Love
  4. Planet of Women
  5. The Houris
  6. Stranded
  7. Bad Vibes & Evil Thoughts
  8. Chapters
  9. Love Among Social Animals
  10. Lovin' on an Older Gal

Other news

Chris Durham Church Shuttle

Church Shuttle rolls down the road

The mightily inzane Church Shuttle (AKA Chris Durham) is set to tour the northeast in tandem with fellow Michigan man continue reading →

Steven R. Smith

Sketchbook Rising

On May 31, Steven R. Smith releases the first new material under his given name in years & years. A continue reading →


Pumice live in Eurozones

Stefan Neville takes his Pumice show on the road, following time on battery for The Coolies. Catch him live if continue reading →

thistle group

Welcoming Thistle Group, her record & tour

Thistle Group started a few years back, while It Hurts was still an active entity, and has been the main continue reading →