Ulaan Khol

SAB026 | CD, DL

Throughout his career as a solo artist, and through membership with the celebrated ensembles Thuja and Mirza, Steven R. Smith has had a hand in creating some of the most compelling and singular instrumental psychedelic music of the past ten years. As Ulaan Khol, Smith moves beyond the Eastern European-inspired sources and scales employed by his work as Hala Strana towards an approach alternately true to his personal musical lineage and in a realm beyond any pre-existing work, and on I he digs in deep with a palette of drums/guitar/organ to craft a monolithic & expansive free form, feedback-heavy atmospheric din that bonds the disparate realms of Fushitsusha and High Rise with Popul Vuh and Flying Saucer Attack.

Track Titles

  • 1. Untitled
  • 2. Untitled
  • 3. Untitled
  • 4. Untitled
  • 5. Untitled
  • 6. Untitled
  • 7. Untitled
  • 8. Untitled
  • 9. Untitled