Soft Abuse


SAB006 | CD, DL

Blackout Beach

Light Flows the Putrid Dawn

Blackout Beach is Carey Mercer of Frog Eyes, Blue Pine, Swan Lake & etc., operating in solo mode. Like his work with Frog Eyes, Mercer’s solo recordings dwell in a land all their own, with his unique vocal and lyrical approach very much at the fore. A fourteen-part fluidsong cycle, Light Flows The Putrid Dawn finds Mercer in rare form, with intense, miniature epics that slowly build, swell and expand to the brink of collapse.

CD | $5.00

Track Titles

  1. If I Were Not Alexander, I Would Like to Be _ _ _ _ _
  2. The Swineherd Sings and the Fountain Dwellers Grow Apart
  3. Krull Courtship
  4. The Putrid Dawn is Only for Us Baby
  5. Fever of the Patriots
  6. New Soft and Shimmering Motherhood Alliance
  7. See: There is the Wisest Son of an All Wise Father
  8. The Stuttered XXX Breeze XXX
  9. The Painted Forest Screen Hides its Witch:
  10. The Reticent Burglar's Den
  11. The Transfiguration of BO-BRICK-IUS
  12. Meadows and Pleasant Madames or Something of the Sort
  13. The Hobo Who Learned to Eat Stone
  14. The Quiet Merchant Gets His Song Too


Other news

Chris Durham Church Shuttle

Church Shuttle rolls down the road

The mightily inzane Church Shuttle (AKA Chris Durham) is set to tour the northeast in tandem with fellow Michigan man continue reading →

Steven R. Smith

Sketchbook Rising

On May 31, Steven R. Smith releases the first new material under his given name in years & years. A continue reading →


Pumice live in Eurozones

Stefan Neville takes his Pumice show on the road, following time on battery for The Coolies. Catch him live if continue reading →

thistle group

Welcoming Thistle Group, her record & tour

Thistle Group started a few years back, while It Hurts was still an active entity, and has been the main continue reading →