Blackout Beach
Skin of Evil

SAB031 | LP, CD, DL

Blackout Beach is Carey Mercer (from Frog Eyes and Swan Lake) in a solo mode, and Skin of Evil is his second full-length. Skin of Evil is remarkable in the sense that a. it contains a story, and b. it sticks to the story; a rare occurrence in these free times. “Donna” is the subject, and each of her lovers (past & present) say their peace in song (Donna gets her song, too).

“Maybe it’s about a girl, about salvation’s undoing through romantic love, wreckage of this kind…No matter, the important thing is that this is the first time I’ve REALLY heard theatrics AND atmospherics in a record, and such an abundance of both.” – Dan Bejar

Track Titles

  • 1. Cloud of Evil
  • 2. Biloxi, In a Grove, Cleans Out His Eyes
  • 3. Three Men Drown in the River
  • 4. William, the Crowd, It's William
  • 5. The Roman
  • 6. Woe to the Minds of Soft Men
  • 7. The Whistle
  • 8. Nineteen, One God, One Dull Star
  • 9. Sophia, Donna, I Was Down the River Waiting
  • 10. Astoria, Menthol Lite, Hilltop, Wave of Evil, 1982