Soft Abuse

The Skygreen Leopards

The Jingling World of The Skygreen Leopards

“The Jingling World of The Skygreen Leopards” is a collection of songs from the first two Skygreen Leopards CDRs on Jewelled Antler; two mini albums written & recorded in the distant days of 2001, a year with a name that evokes a psychedelic future but which now seems very much part of the psychedelic past. Guided by Tall Dwarfs, The Monkees & The TVPs, the early SGLs concept was to mix automatic songwriting, two voices, California 12-string and put it on reverb smothered 1/4″ tape. The restrictions were that no songs could break the 3 minute mark, no jamming allowed, and you never went back to fix mistakes. All songs were written and performed by Glenn Donaldson and Donovan Quinn; both switching instruments and overdubbing until Glenn’s Tascam 388 had run out of open tracks.

From the womb of fanzines, flea market record crates of the 90’s and San Francisco’s fading victorians, it’s “The Jingling World of The Skygreen Leopards”!


Track Titles

  1. The Stars Go To Sleep
  2. I Dreamt She Rode on a Pink Gazelle
  3. I Fell Asleep In The Sunbleached Grass (I'll Just Pass Away)
  4. Mascara Priscilla (Things Get Better)
  5. Yellow is the Color of Bees
  6. Leopard Wings
  7. Peppermint Annie
  8. Your Face is Modern Art
  9. Wild Bird Songs
  10. The Jingling World (The Skygreen Leopards Love You)
  11. Egyptian Circus (Gods of Bantams)
  12. Conversations with Mirrors
  13. Pinwheels & Circles
  14. Hurray for the Beast
  15. Soft Dark Birds
  16. Sally Orchid I Can't Help You
  17. She Wears a Rainbow Sunday Mornings
  18. Josephine I've Seen
  19. Greenmarsh Tiger
  20. Roman Orchards, Part 2
  21. Is It Love, Love, Love (Is It)
  22. More Fabulous Animals
  23. I Don't Live for Today (I Don't Know My Name)
  24. Roman Orchards