Soft Abuse

Matthew De Gennaro

image of Matthew De Gennaro

Matthew De Gennaro has quietly, steadily amassed a brilliant discography over the past two decades. Since his series of collaborative works with Alastair Galbraith, he’s focused on solo releases that touch upon folk concepts of the last hundred years, and has occasionally worked in collaboration with the likes of Stefan Neville and Scott Tuma. Originally from Michigan, De Gennaro now calls Indianapolis home, where he continues to write, record, and hone his craft.


  • Wire Music (with Alastair Galbraith) CD (1998, Corpus Hermeticum)
  • Two Wires Violin Loop (with Alastair Galbraith) CDR (1999, Epigogic)
  • Long Wires In Dark Museums (Vol. 1) (with Alastair Galbraith) CD (2000, Emperor Jones)
  • Under The Sun CDR (2002, Epigogic)
  • 5 CDR (2003, Epigogic)
  • Humbled Down CD (2005, Last Visible Dog)
  • Lightworks CDR (2006, Epigogic)
  • A Guide For The Perplexed CD (2006, Epigogic)
  • From The Dark (South Island) - Long Wires In Dark Museums Vol. 2 (with Alastair Galbraith) CD (2006, Xeric)
  • Doings CDR (2009, Epigogic)
  • Women (with Stefan Neville) CS (2011, self-released)
  • Adversaria LP (2011, TU-134)
  • Chuang Tzu Motherfucker LP (2013, Soft Abuse)
  • Old Jack Somebody CS (2014, Soft Abuse)
  • Spark & Flame 7" (2016, Soft Abuse)
  • Conversation with a Roadside Skull CS (2018, Soft Abuse)
  • What It Is ? CS (2019, Soft Abuse)
  • Laughing Lost in the Underground LP (2020, Soft Abuse)
  • Sometimes I Do DL (2021, self-released)